Gamepads break the game

Report issues and bugs here.
NaughtyAvocado
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:16 pm

Gamepads break the game

Unread post by NaughtyAvocado » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:24 pm

Gamepads seem to break the game on Android. I've configured both my DS4 and Xvox One controllers with the RVGL Controller Map app but when I select either one them from the in-game options menu the game seems to freeze (or fail to detect any inputs).

Thanks to the devs for their hard work!
User avatar
Huki
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:54 am
Discord: Huki#1668

Re: Gamepads break the game

Unread post by Huki » Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:23 am

After running the RVGL Controller Map app, you have to manually copy the mapping before it can be used by the game. The mapping is saved in profiles/gamecontroller_log.txt as a line at the end of the file. Create a new file called gamecontrollerdb.txt inside the profiles folder and paste this line into it, then save it. You can confirm this is working by checking the game's log (profiles/re-volt_log.txt), or upload the log(s) here if you're unsure.

In the future, RVGL Controller Map should automatically add the mappings. It's one of many Android usability improvements planned.
NaughtyAvocado
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Gamepads break the game

Unread post by NaughtyAvocado » Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:04 am

Thanks for getting back to me. I managed to get it working by copying the line of text for the mapping into my gamecontrollerdb file. That alone didn't work as I still had to remap the controller in-game. Thanks for your help!
Last edited by NaughtyAvocado on Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Huki
Developer
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:54 am
Discord: Huki#1668

Re: Gamepads break the game

Unread post by Huki » Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:17 am

Can you post here the mapping you tried to copy? (or better yet, post the entire contents of the log)
NaughtyAvocado
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Gamepads break the game

Unread post by NaughtyAvocado » Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:19 am

It's working. I had to remap the controller in-game after copying the line of text for the controller mapping.
Post Reply