[RVGL-MIG] Problem using mirrors together with waterboxes

Report issues and bugs here.
User avatar
Kiwi
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re-Volt [RVGL-MIG] Problem using mirrors together with waterboxes

Unread post by Kiwi » Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:44 am

Hello RVGL-team,

I found out, that as soon water/fog boxes will be placed in a level, no mirror surfaces can be used, because graphic glitches appears.

How I tested it:

1) Created a portal by using the makeitgood "Erm, nothing to see here"-mode, where the mirrored surface should appear.
2) Created a rim-file by using the mkmirror tool.

Without water/fog-boxes in the level, the mirroring is working fine:

Image

As soon a water/fog-box will be placed, there are graphic glitches.

The graphic glitch doesn't look the same all the time. Also, sometimes the glitch doesn't appear at all. At Singleplayer-races, the glitch appears much more often, then on Timetrials.

It makes no difference, where the water/fog-boxes are located. Also a very small water-box far away from the portal is causing glitches. (So there are definitly no overlaps).

Here are some screenshots how the glitches looks like:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

It would be really nice, if this issue can be solved. So trackmakers would be able to use both (mirrored surfaces and water/fog-boxes) in one level.

Ciao, Kiwi
Kiwi's :re-volt: Re-Volt Creations

Proud to be a Re-Volter since 1999 : )
User avatar
Huki
Developer
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:54 am
Discord: Huki#1668

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Huki » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:40 pm

I didn't manage to reproduce this bug - I placed both a waterbox and a fogbox (both quite large) over the reflective surface at Garden start. Tried starting a few single races (the modified Garden and some other levels).

Fogbox changes the fog color to black as long as the camera is inside it. But the glitches shown in your screenshots are a mystery. Can you confirm whether this is a problem only with your track? What happens if you place a waterbox / fogbox in Garden like I did?
User avatar
SebR
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by SebR » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:03 pm

Huki wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:40 pm
I didn't manage to reproduce this bug - I placed both a waterbox and a fogbox (both quite large) over the reflective surface at Garden start. Tried starting a few single races (the modified Garden and some other levels).

Fogbox changes the fog color to black as long as the camera is inside it. But the glitches shown in your screenshots are a mystery. Can you confirm whether this is a problem only with your track? What happens if you place a waterbox / fogbox in Garden like I did?
Huki try to merge every cubes in only 1 and retry your garden test ... as kiwi's track got only 1 cube with around 30000 poly i think
wicked BROPBOX !!! If you found broken link PM me

AlicebanD an English voice that you must discover !!
User avatar
Huki
Developer
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:54 am
Discord: Huki#1668

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Huki » Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:58 pm

SebR wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:03 pm
Huki wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:40 pm
I didn't manage to reproduce this bug - I placed both a waterbox and a fogbox (both quite large) over the reflective surface at Garden start. Tried starting a few single races (the modified Garden and some other levels).

Fogbox changes the fog color to black as long as the camera is inside it. But the glitches shown in your screenshots are a mystery. Can you confirm whether this is a problem only with your track? What happens if you place a waterbox / fogbox in Garden like I did?
Huki try to merge every cubes in only 1 and retry your garden test ... as kiwi's track got only 1 cube with around 30000 poly i think
Still no luck... :/
User avatar
Kiwi
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Kiwi » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:42 am

At the time when I was testing the mirrors and experienced the issues, my level had below 10000 polies, in one cube. I did not tested it again since this. I will give it another try today in the evening. Maybe it is solved already. I will come back with more infos.
Kiwi's :re-volt: Re-Volt Creations

Proud to be a Re-Volter since 1999 : )
User avatar
Kiwi
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Kiwi » Fri Jul 27, 2018 6:38 am

Hello Huki,

so I gave it another try, and did a few more tests with the current version of my track.

1) I've created a portal by using the makeitgood "Erm, nothing to see here"-mode, where the mirrored surface should appear.
2) I've created a rim-file by using the mkmirror tool. (http://www.perror.de/rv/#tools)
3) I made the floor faces where the mirror should be translucent, by setting the Mirror-flag, and set Alpha Transparency Channel to Grey 70.

Image

Results: Good and a bad news.
Good news: The Graphic glitches are gone completly. I don't know why. Ether, it was solved by some of the latest RVGL updates, or something changed inside my track, which was affecting the glitches as shown in the thread earlier.
Bad news: The mirroring is not working anymore. It acts like the rim-file isn't there at all. Instead, the floor is just translucent, with the skybox and the rest of the level meshes shining through. No mirror effects at all.

So I did some more investigations:

4) I removed all the water boxes (3 pieces) in my track, and saved the fob-file.

Results: Good news. The mirrors are working, like they should! No graphic glitches. But also no water boxes. See this screenshot:

Image

5) So I tried to add a very small water box, far away from the surface where the mirror should me. See here:

Image

Results: Bad news: The mirror effect is gone again. Again, the faces on the floor are just translucent, without any mirror effect visible. Screenshot:

Image

6) I tried the same with stock levels. I was not able, to break the mirroring, by adding water boxes. Maybe, because the stock tracks rim-files wasn't created with the mkmirror tool?

Conclusion:

On some ore all custom tracks, which create mirroring effects by using the mkmirror tool, there are issues as soon at least one water box is present.
Kiwi's :re-volt: Re-Volt Creations

Proud to be a Re-Volter since 1999 : )
User avatar
Marv
Site Admin
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:45 pm
Location: /home/marv

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Marv » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:08 am

Try cutting up the .w with WorldCut and use the values 4000 and 12000.
User avatar
Kiwi
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [RVGL] Problem using mirrors

Unread post by Kiwi » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:30 am

I have tried it again after cutting my .w-file with WorldCut, but the problem is still there.

It seems I am not the only one with this issues, also Xarc and Instant had similar issues at their custom tracks. Both decided to get rid of their water boxes, so they were able to use mirroring surfaces.

However, I did it the other way round: I decided to release Spa-Volt 1 with water boxes, but without mirroring effects.
Kiwi's :re-volt: Re-Volt Creations

Proud to be a Re-Volter since 1999 : )
User avatar
Kiwi
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [RVGL-MIG] Problem using mirrors together with waterboxes

Unread post by Kiwi » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:59 am

Any news regarding this issue?

I wanted to add mirrors at my new custom track Spa-Volt 2, but I have exactly the same problem again.
Kiwi's :re-volt: Re-Volt Creations

Proud to be a Re-Volter since 1999 : )
User avatar
607
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:49 pm

Re: [RVGL-MIG] Problem using mirrors together with waterboxes

Unread post by 607 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:41 am

I hope this issue can be understood.
User avatar
Huki
Developer
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:54 am
Discord: Huki#1668

Re: [RVGL-MIG] Problem using mirrors together with waterboxes

Unread post by Huki » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:51 pm

Kiwi wrote:
Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:59 am
Any news regarding this issue?

I wanted to add mirrors at my new custom track Spa-Volt 2, but I have exactly the same problem again.
I need you to send me your track in its current state where you experience this problem.
The same for the sliders collision.

Then I'll check both of them.
Post Reply