Open-Volt Project

Post about the progress of your projects.
Steb

Open-Volt Project

Unread post by Steb » Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:51 pm

Hello everyone!
I'm back after years of inactivity to introduce Open-Volt, a project I've been working on for about 2 years.

Image GitLab page

For short: Open-Volt is to Re-Volt what Garry’s Mod is to Half-Life.

Open-Volt is a framework and a sandbox. Its development aims to make modding as easy as possible and aims to allow as much user customization as possible. No content is provided by default. You have the base so you can build anything you want from it.

Based on the current state of the development, Open-Volt strength points are (not exhaustive):
  • Legacy content support (just a few files are not supported currently such as force fields)
  • UI customization with WPF-like technology (XML templates + bindings)
  • Normal map support
  • Game engine independent (may be hooked to Godot or UE4 instead of Unity in the future)
  • SDK that allows:
    • Custom game mode creation
    • Custom object creation
TODO list (not exhaustive):
  • New file formats (one file per track, one file per car, model animation file format)
  • Force fields support
  • Trigger support
  • Track editor
  • Car editor
  • Sound
  • Net code to allow any game mode (even custom) to be played online
  • Height map support
  • Documentation (wiki + SDK code comments)
  • UI animation support in XML template
  • In-game content download
  • Legacy compatibility with content produced with Open-Volt
I will probably make a public release in 1 or 2 weeks, I need to fix some major issues before.
I will soon give a link to the Re-Volt addon source code which includes the singleplayer mode and some objects, so you will be able to take a look of what an addon using the SDK looks like.