Track making: Performance optimization

Report issues or bugs in RVGL or ask for help regarding any Re-Volt topic.
kiwi

Track making: Performance optimization

Unread post by kiwi » Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:50 pm

Hello Re-Volt track makers,
Hello technic-interested Re-Volters,

as most of you know, I am doing my first map in Re-Volt (Spa-Volt) at the moment. It is a very ambitious map with a lot of details. At the moment, Spa-Volt has about 30.000 faces in Blender, and with the "normal" RVGL-version (Non-Shader version), I have on my fairly good computer "only" about 150-200 fps.

However, in the Shader version i reach 1000+ fps. But I know, that not everybody can/want to run the Shader version. Also a lot of guys with very low-end hardware are playing Re-Volt.

My goal is, that Spa-Volt runs as smooth as possible also on low-end hardware, with a visual appearance as good as possible.

So I want to know, what I can do to improve the performance. I have no good knowledge in terms of 3d engines/computer graphics, so Sorry for some maybe stupid questions.
  • What is causing the most issues regarding performance?
  • How do I know, how many polygons the track have? I only have the values with amount of vertics/edges/faces inside Blender - but some faces will be splitted into triangles, while exporting?
  • The more polygons visible at one time while racing, the slower?
  • When I have a big open room, it's not possible to use VisiBoxes - what other possibilities do I have to optimize?
  • When will the polygons will be calculated by the GPU? As soon as visible, or also the ones in the background?
  • How much does effects (like steam, waterdrops, waterboxes, rain) affect the performance?
  • Should I avoid to have to many effects at one place? (For example: Place 10 spark generators at one place)
  • Does lights have influence to the performance? Or is lighting only the brightness/darkness of faces?